Mechanical & Electrical Control

Industry in the central region of Taiwan is primarily made up of small and medium-sized enterprises, including manufacturing related to electrical and mechanical control. Movement component manufacturers, sequence control manufacturers, frequency conversion device manufacturers, sequence controller suppliers, and controller design manufacturers have long-term cooperative relations with our department. In recent years, improvement in wireless technology and wide use of chip design demonstrate multidisciplinary research and technological linking in the electrical and mechanical control field, the development of Industry 4.0’s core technological developments and IoT technology, and the introduction of artificial intelligence have raised an urgent need for talented interdisciplinary researchers to cultivate industrial manpower. The main development direction of planning in this group is as follows:

1 Application of Visibility Control System

In response to industry upgrades, this group will combine the advantages of semiconductor industry in Taiwan and the potential of the information industry to provide technology for industrial automation control development, reducing costs and improving competitiveness.

At the same time, it also focuses on cultivating students’ technical ability to suit their future employment environments and creates a large reserve of technical and R&D experts for the Central Taiwan Science Park. The course structure design is intended to integrate motor machinery, electromechanical integration, single chip, sensor, network communication, and basic electronicswith knowledge of hardware. They will also learn to establish an e-chemical teaching environment with interactive teaching, simulation, and experimentation through visual software design (Simulink, Labview, VB, Build C++). Students will be able to easily conduct experiments to verify the correctness of theory that they learn in class. Finally, with the goal of PC based control and integration with DSP based instant control systems, we will develop network vision precision servo electromechanical control applications.


2 Motor Drive Control

The motor is the source of mechanical load power. In the traditional and high-tech industries, all the equipment that need rotating or linear motion transmission function need motors. The applications of this technology include precision numerical control machine tools, electric vehicles, electric trains, rolling mills, textile machines, pumps, blowers, semiconductor process equipment, disk drives, and CD players. The present development goals of motor drive control tend to be automation, precision, labor saving, power saving, and miniaturization. Various types of motors for industrial or household use depend on the environment. The drive control requires functions such as acceleration, constant speed, deceleration, and positioning for the load. In addition, controller design, drive power level development, motor, and mechanical parameters are required. The technologies of automatic measurement, parameter identification, and online adjustment are also some of the key development directions of this group.


3 Sensing and Data Acquisition Control Technology

Sensing is an indispensable part of control. If the sensing technology is not efficient, controls will not function. The sensing laboratory and research team established by our department, combined with the data acquisition technology of the computer interface, actively cultivate technical talents in sensing and data acquisition, and develop software and hardware for the technology. In addition, the widespread use of the monitoring software, LabView, has successfully captured data for power, sound, and video. Labview can also support the department’s advanced application of cutting-edge control and power monitoring.


4 Application of System-on-a-Chip Technology

The purpose of the system-on-a-chip (SOC) design is to enable the end user to implement the hard interface and software algorithms in a hardware-like manner inside a single chip. A typical single-chip system, such as the rather popular 8051 series single-chip, does not meet the user’s need for system functions to implement a single chip because of the built-in functionality. Therefore, in order to reduce the circuit area and concentrate the required functions inside a single IC, the SOC concept was introduced. At present, there are quite a few products like SOC. For example, Texas Instruments’ TMS320F24x series of DSPs are dedicated ICs designed to develop motor control. In addition to exploring the design techniques of related SOCs, this development theme also develops the application technology of DSP and implements the spirit of SOC.


5 Advanced Control Theory

Pertaining to the smart control theory, smart control is the key item of Control Engineering Program planning of the Ministry of Science and Technology.  A number of professors in this department are engaged in research in this area and putting research on various types of motor control, power control, and distribution automation into practice, and the results have been very impressive. In addition, a considerable degree of control theory support is required for power electronics, power monitoring, power conversion, and solar energy development technologies. The development of this control theory will directly support the power technology to design a complete controller to meet industry needs and functional requirements.

機電控制領域

中部地區的產業特色以中小企業為主,包含機電控制相關之廠商。舉凡運動器材、電動機、變頻器、智慧型自動控制設備、工具機、可程式控制器及控制器設計廠商等,均與本系有長期合作關係。又近年來,無線感測通訊網路技術的提昇,工業4.0及物聯網技術的發展以及人工智慧的提出,急需跨領域整合的研究人才,為培育產業人力,本組規畫主要發展方向如下:

1 可視性控制系統之應用

因應產業昇級,本組結合目前台灣半導體產業之優勢與資訊業之潛力,提供產業自動化控制發展之技術,降低成本,提高競爭力。同時亦著重於培育學生具備未來就業環境的技術能力,儲備中部科學園區所需要大量之研發技術人才。課程結構設計擬整合電機機械、機電整合、單晶片、感測器、網路通訊、基礎電子…等硬體學理知識,藉由可視性軟體(Simulink、Labview、VB、Build C++等)之設計,學習建立一具有互動性教學、模擬與實驗兼備之視覺化可攜性之e-化教學環境,學生可輕易進行實驗以驗證理論的正確性。最後以PC Based控制、與DSP Based即時控制系統的整合為目標,發展網路視覺化精密伺服機電控制應用。


2 馬達驅動控制

馬達為機械負載動力的來源,在傳統產業與高科技產業中,各項需要旋轉或線型運動傳輸功能的機具設備均需要應用馬達,其應用場合有:精密數值控制工具機、電動載具、電聯車、軋鋼機、紡織機具、幫浦、送風機、半導體製程設備、磁碟機、光碟機…等,現代馬達驅動控制的發展趨向於自動化、精密、省力、省電與小型化的目標。工業或家庭用之各類型馬達依據使用環境而定,其驅動控制要求對負載執行加速、定速、減速與定位等功能,均需要控制器的設計、驅動功率級的研製、馬達電機與機械參數的自動量測、參數辨識與線上調適等技術,也皆為本組的重點發展方向之ㄧ。


3 感測與資料擷取控制技術

感測在控制場合中是不可或缺的一環,沒有好的感測技術,所有控制皆是空談。本系成立的感測實驗室及研究團隊,結合電腦介面之資料擷取技術,積極培育感測及資料擷取之技術人才,並已開發資料擷取的軟硬體技術。此外,使用工業界廣泛運用之監控軟體LabView,亦已成功的進行電能、聲音及影像的資料擷取。並可支援本系在尖端控制及電能監控的進階應用。


4 系統單晶片技術的應用

系統晶片(SOC)設計的目的係將終端使用者對於硬體介面電路以及軟體運算法則功能,以硬體的方式實現於單一晶片內部。一般的單晶片系統,諸如相當熱門的8051系列單晶片,因為在內建的功能上無法滿足使用者對於系統功能實現於單一晶片的需求。因此,為求能夠縮小電路面積,以及將所需功能集中於單一IC內部,乃有所謂SOC概念的出現。目前其實已經有相當多的類SOC產品,例如德州儀器公司(TI)的TMS320F24x系列的數位信號處理器(DSP)就是專門用來發展馬達控制而設計的專用IC。本發展主題,除了探討相關SOC的設計技術之外,也發展DSP的應用技術,確實落實SOC的精神。


5 尖端控制理論

主要針對智慧型控制理論進行,智慧型控制為國科會控制學門規劃之要項。本系有多位老師從事這方面研究,並投入實務應用在各型馬達控制、電能控制、配電自動化等方面之研究,成效頗為可觀。另外在電力電子、電力監控、電能轉換及太陽能開發技術中,皆需相當程度之控制理論支援,此項控制理論之發展,將可直接支援電能技術,以便設計完善之控制器,達到所需要之功能需求。