Energy & Power Technology

Electricity is the foundation of all industrial development. As Taiwan is an island country lacking natural resources, the Taiwanese government is committed to developing the energy diversification policy. Due to the global consensus to reduce greenhouse gases and financial pressure caused by high prices of nonrenewable energy sources, effective use of renewable energy has become an important solution in international development. The development of the electric energy industry is currently trending toward distributed power generation and renewable energy power generation for increasing power supply quality and reducing greenhouse gas emissions. Therefore, it is necessary to improve autonomous technological capabilities and increase the number of technically skilled people in the areas of power monitoring, power quality, power conversion, renewable energy development, and energy conservation. In a distributed power generation system, a small power generator or energy storage system is set up on the power load side to partially or completely supply power to the load. The distributed power generation system can, therefore, allow users to self-power and use the power grid as backup power. The residual heat generated by the distributed power system after generating electricity from a thermal machine can produce the steam or ice water required for processing by the heat exchanger to meet the user’s cold/hot load; achieve cold, heat, and electricity; and greatly improve the energy efficiency. During the grid’s peak power supply period, the load end of the small power generation system can produce power for itself or return power to the grid. It can effectively reduce stored power shortage and congestion in the power distribution network during the grid’s peak power supply period. Small-distributed power generation systems can act as emergency backup power for networks in the event of an electrical system accident and can also meet the niche demand for remote or green power generation. The advantages of distributed power generation systems include lower social costs, increased electricity reliability for users, reduced pollution and emissions, increased opportunities for choice in electricity types, increased emergency backup power for the grid, and increased network safety.

In recent years, breakthroughs have been made in distributed power generation technology research, and a variety of new distributed power generation technologies have emerged. These technologies include micro-gas turbines (MTs) with smaller power generation capacities, fuel cells with capacities that range from several kW to MW, and a variety of distributed power generation technologies based on renewable energy (e.g., PV and wind power generation). These new types of distributed power generation are expected to make up an increasing portion of power production; this growth will have a clear and important impact on the electrical power system. Although the power generation efficiency of several important distributed power generation technologies has greatly improved, the thermal power conversion efficiency of distributed power generation is still much smaller than that of large-scale centralized power generation. Just as centralized power stations can be connected in parallel with electricity and heat to improve energy efficiency, distributed power supply systems can also provide thermal energy or meet heating and cooling requirements while producing electricity according to user needs. Adding an energy storage device to a distributed power generation system, especially a distributed power generation based on renewable energy, can effectively improve energy efficiency, reduce environmental pollution, and improve the system’s thermal efficiency. The main development direction of this group is as follows:

1 Power Monitoring

Due to the strained power supply of Taiwan Electric Power Company in recent years, Taiwan Electric Power Company's various factories, companies, buildings, and schools have all tried to plan their electricity use in order to achieve optimal electricity scheduling and an energy-saving effect, especially in the areas of air conditioning load control and power monitoring. The department has conducted an abundance of successful research in this area, is presently continuing to work with the ITRI‘s all relevant research programs, and has achieved outstanding results. However, the current cost of the terminal node controller is high, and the development of a highly versatile node controller continues to be the development direction of the power monitoring team.


2 Power Quality

Since high-tech industries (such as the semiconductor industry) require high-quality power supply, power disturbances such as harmonics generate pollution in the power supply due to sharp increase in the use of non-linear loads, resulting in lower power quality. It is highly essential for the power industry to achieve improvement in electricity quality. Our department has achieved great results in research on theory and practice in power quality measurement and improvement. In the future, the industry will move toward more accurate power quality measurement methods and more cost-effective improvement strategies.


3 Electrical Energy Conversion

Most of the energy in Taiwan relies on imports, and domestic electricity consumption is increasing. This has strained the national electricity supply. The problem of electrical energy shortage can be solved by improving the efficiency and properties of electric energy conversion equipment. Many teachers in our department have theoretical and practical backgrounds in power converter design, electronic fluorescent lamp stabilizer design, and high-efficiency motor design. These diverse backgrounds help make up our research’s unique features.


4 Regeneration Energy and Energy Conservation Technology

Taiwan mostly relies on imports to fulfill domestic energy needs, especially after the nationwide power outage, 921 earthquakes, and soaring of crude oil prices in recent years. The impact of these events on industry highlights the importance of renewable energy development. In accordance with the Executive Yuan Energy Conference’s special energy plan, 10 billion NTD will be invested in the development of new energy generation methods and clean energy. Therefore, our department is combining the research potential and practical experience of our professors with the application of electric energy technology and energy-saving technology to engage in renewable energy development and energy management research. At present, NCUT has installed a 6KW solar photovoltaic power generation system and small wind turbines, and jointly developed 100W, 200W, and 1000W small wind turbines with Taichung County Yongyuan Electric Co., Ltd. Additionally, a micro-turbine power generator and a biomass gasification power generation system have been installed for practical operations.


5 Power Electronics

Power electronics technology is the core of power conversion technology. At present, the output value of products related to domestic power electronics has reached 300 billion. However, in Taiwan, talent cultivation and R&D in this area is quite limited. Therefore, the National Science Council has specially established a power electronics promotion group to emphasize its importance. Our department has been conducting researching in this area since many years, and the results have been quite fruitful. In the future, we expect that our department will conduct more R&D in related technology areas such as electric motor vehicles and inverters.

電能科技領域

電能為一切工業發展之基礎,我國為天然能源欠缺之海島國家,政府亦致力於能源多元化的發展政策。為因應全世界溫室效應減量的共識,與化石燃料價格居高不下的壓力,如何有效大量的使用再生能源,是國際間競相發展的解決之道。電能產業發展趨勢為朝向分散式發電與再生能源發電發展,以增加供電品質並降低溫室效應氣體排放為目標。因此,必需大力提升包括電力監控、電力品質、電能轉換、再生能源開發與節能、及電力電子之自主技術能力與技術人才培育。分散式發電為在電力負載端設置小型發電或儲能系統,部份或全部供電給負載所需電力,分散式發電系統因此可以讓用電戶自行供電並可以將電網當作備用電力。而分散式發電系統藉熱機發電後所產生的餘熱則可以藉熱交換器產生製程所需的蒸氣或空調所需的冰水,滿足用戶的冷/熱負載,達到冷、熱與電三生,以大幅提高能源使用效率。負載端的小型發電系統若能在電網尖峰供電期間產生電力自用或反送回電網,則可以有效降低電網尖峰供電時備用電源不足與輸配電網路擁擠的壓力。小型分散式發電系統可在電力系統發生意外時充當網路的緊急備用電力,小型分散式發電系統也可提供偏遠或綠色發電的利基需求。分散式發電系統的優點包括較低的社會成本、增加用電戶電力的可靠度、降低污染排放、增加用電戶能源種類的選擇性、提高電網的緊急備用電力與增加網路的安全性。

近年來,在分散式發電技術的研究已有突破性的進展,湧現出了各種新型分佈發電技術,主要有:發電容量較小的微型燃氣輪機(MT)、幾kW到MW級的燃料電池、以及各種基於可再生能源的分佈發電技術(PV發電以及風能發電等)。這些新型分散式發電有望在電能生產中佔有越來越大的比重,對電力系統產生重要的影響。儘管目前幾種重要的分散式發電技術的發電效率有了很大提高,但總體來看,分散式發電的熱電轉換效率仍然遠小於大型集中發電。正如集中供電站可以通過電、熱並聯,以提高能源利用率一樣,分散式供電系統也可根據用戶需要,在生產電力的同時,提供熱能或同時滿足供熱、製冷等方面的需求。在分散式發電系統,特別是基於可再生能源的分散式發電中加入儲能裝置,就可以有效地提高能源利用率、降低環境污染、改善系統的熱效率。此組主要發展方向如下:

1 電力監控

由於近年來台電公司電力供應吃緊,台電公司及各工廠、公司、大樓及學校等單位,無不設法規劃各種電力使其達到最佳化用電調度,尤其是空調負載之控制,而電力監控即是達到節能效果之根本方法。目前本系在這方面已有多項研究成果,並持續與工研院能環所有相關之研究計劃進行中,效果卓著。惟目前終端節點控制器的設備成本高,積極開發通用性高的節點控制器為電力監控團隊的持續發展方向。


2 電力品質

由於高科技產業(如半導體產業)皆要求高品質之電力供應,但因非線性負載使用量之劇增,其產生之諧波等電力干擾,對供電電源造成污染,致造成電力品質降低。如何改善電力品質,已是電力界所面臨之刻不容緩的課題。本系在電力品質量測與改善之理論與實務上,具有相當不錯之研究成果。未來將朝向更精確之電力品質量測方法及更經濟有效的改善策略技術方面發展。


3 電能轉換

台灣地區能源大多仰賴進口,而國內用電量又不斷增加,致使電力供應吃緊。如何提高電能轉換設備之效率及特性,實為解決電能不足方法之一,本系現有多位教師在電力轉換器,電子式日光燈安定器及高效率電機設計方面具有理論及實務基礎,必能形成特色。


4 再生能源開發與節能

由於國內大部分能源皆須仰賴進口,特別是全台大停電、921大地震後及近年來原油價格飆漲,衝擊產業,突顯出再生能源開發之重要性。且行政院能源會議中特別規劃將投入一百億之經費,作為開發新能源及淨潔能源之用。故本系結合在電能技術應用及節能技術方面具研究潛力及實務經驗之教師從事再生能源開發及能源管理之研究。目前已設置完成6KW之太陽能光發電系統、小型風力發電機並持續與台中縣永元電機公司產學合作研發100W、200W及1000W小型風力發電機,除此之外,也建立微渦輪機發電、及生質能氣化發電系統進行實際運轉。


5 電力電子

電力電子技術為電能轉換技術之核心,目前國內電力電子相關產品之產值已達三千億,但國內此方面人才培育與研發卻相當有限,因此,國科會特別成立電力電子推動小組,可見其重要性。本系過去在這方面研究已有多年基礎,研究成果頗為豐碩,將來預計朝電動機車及變頻器等相關實用技術研發。