Computer Application

With the advancement of semiconductor technology, the application and design of microcomputer systems can meet the miniaturization and portability needs. In order to meet the need for customized specifications and functions, the design mode of the embedded system must allow the application of the microcomputer system to extend to a wider field. In recent years, VHDL chip design, ARM-based embedded system design, and CPLD/FPGA development programs have been created under the financial support of the MOE’s “Science and Technology Department Talent Cultivation Program” and “Capital Communication Talent Cultivation Program.” The teaching and research equipment needed for these programs, including the establishment of an embedded system design lab, have been provided. At the same time, the development of software and hardware design using various types of microcomputers such as programmable controllers (PLCs), single chip (Intel 8051, Microchip PIC/dsPIC), TI DSP, ARM SOC, and PCs have been applied to consumer multimedia electronic products, smart robot development, electromechanical integration control, audio and video signal processing, and VoIP. The team has also developed a full-featured PIC micro controller teaching aid to help enhance practical teaching. We also set up a VoIP system on our campus to integrate with the traditional network of the school to enable professors and students in the university to communicate for free using the Internet and traditional university extensions. The main development direction of this group is as follows:

1 Application of High-End Microcontroller

This development focus is based on the PIC/dsPIC family of high-end microcontrollers of Microchip. Due to the high market share and stability of PIC/dsPIC series microcontrollers, it has become the mainstream of electronic control system design in the market. Therefore, the development plan of this project will focus on teaching, research, and promotion of education.

(1)   In terms of teaching, a high-end microcontroller laboratory will be built first, and experimental instruments for peripheral product design technology development will be integrated later to actively cultivate relevant technical manpower. In line with our program’s skill verification specifications, we will establish a subject-based question bank and choose the design course test questions on a yearly basis to assess the professional ability of our students.

(2)   Our research will integrate professors, graduate students, and industry needs, and undertake R&D related to research projects or industry products. In accordance with the equipment and space available in the electromechanical integration lab, a product design research group was established to cultivate relevant technical manpower and practical R&D technology.

(3)   In terms of technology promotion, depending on industry demand and social trends, appropriate promotion opportunities will be set up to assist the cultivation of technically talented workers for the industry, and partnerships with the industry will be established to understand its needs and narrow the gap between industry and education.

 


2 Intelligent Technology Research & Practice

(1)   Embedded system application design is a combination of CPLD/FPGA chip design, multimedia audio and video technology, image processing and control theory, embedded system for application platform developed for Intelligent Transportation System (ITS), and intelligent robots (Intelligent Robots). For example, the development of a driving assistance system to improve vehicle driving safety integrated multimedia entertainment technology and Global Position System (GPS) to serve as a car’s audio-visual entertainment system and driving assistance system. Emotional Face Recognition has been applied to the interactive perception between humans and pet robots.

(2)   Multimedia and network communication integrates communication and information to develop a multimedia network communication platform. The content covers development of voice/image digital production and compression algorithm research, SIP communication protocol production, applications in digital learning, digital publishing and collection, VoIP, and Video-Phone. The network communication technology is used to support the remote data transmission related to the course.

(3)   Digital signal processing application systems development integrates digital signal processing technology, including digital filtering, signal modeling, spectrum analysis, random signal processing, adaptive signal processing, neural networks, wavelet networks, and image development, sound, and biomedical digital signal processing application systems such as image text recognition system, image detection system, two-way audio communication system with active noise control, and high-resolution ECG diagnosis system. This helps students acquire digital signal processing technology application and practical system design ability.

(4)   Computer-aided design of integrated circuits is the design of integrated circuit components using computer-aided software to create new components or improve the electrical characteristics of existing components. After the design is completed, it is sent to the National Nano Component Laboratory (NDL) to manufacture physical components. The computer-aided software design is a very large integrated circuit (VLSI). After the design is completed, it is sent to the National Chip System Design Center (CIC) to manufacture physical circuits.

計算機應用領域

隨著半導體科技的進步,使得微電腦系統的應用與設計可滿足小型化與可攜式的需求。同時為符合客製化的規格與功能,嵌入式系統的設計模式更讓微電腦系統的應用延伸至更寬廣的領域。近年來在教育部「大學科技系所人才培育計畫」及「資通訊人才培育計畫」的經費補助下,建立了應用於CPLD/FPGA的VHDL晶片設計及ARM-based嵌入式系統設計開發所需之教學及研究設備,並成立嵌入式系統設計實驗教室。同時發展使用可程式控制器(PLC)、單晶片(Intel 8051、Microchip PIC/dsPIC)、TI DSP、ARM SoC及個人電腦等各類微電腦之軟硬體設計,應用於消費性多媒體電子產品、智慧型機器人開發、機電整合控制、影音信號處理、網路電話等。本組團隊也已開發一套功能完備的PIC微控制器教具,有助提升實務教學。也在本校建置一套網路電話系統,整合本校傳統交換機,可讓全校師生在校內傳統分機與網路分機互相免費通話,達到節費效果。此組主要發展方向如下:

1 高階微控制器之應用

本項發展重點是以Microchip之PIC/dsPIC系列高階微控制器之應用為主。由於PIC/dsPIC系列微控制器之高市佔率及穩定性,在市場上衍然已成為電控系統設計的主流。因此,本項目之發展計畫將著眼於教學、研究及推廣教育三方面。

(1)教學方面將先建置高階微控制器的實驗室,整合產品設計主要之週邊技術開發專用之實驗器,積極培育相關技術人力。而參考技能檢定規範,並逐年建立學科的題庫及設計術科的考題,以評定學生所具備的專業能力。



(2)研究方面將整合專業師資、研究生及產業界之需求,承接產業界之研究計畫或產品之設計研發。並配合機電整合實驗室之設備及空間,成立產品設計研究群,培育相關技術人力及研發實務技術。



(3)技術推廣方面視產業需求及社會脈動,適當時機開設推廣課程協助產業技術人才之培育,並與業界建立合件夥伴關係,了解產業界之需求,以縮小產學之間的落差。










2 智慧型技術之研究及實現

本項發展計畫主要結合本學程技術人力,利用類神經網路、模糊理論、灰色理論等智慧型理論,以實現機電設備之尖端控制技術、故障診斷分析、醫學工程、影像語音識別分類等應用。而配合國科會控制學門近年來將機器人規劃為重點發展方向之一,本學程亦將朝智慧型機器人之研究與設計努力。諸如導覽機器人、保全機器人或玩具機器人的相關技術之研究。同時配合中部地區的產業特色,亦將開發如工具機等之伺服控制技術,以支援產學合作平台所需之技術。

(1)嵌入式系統應用設計:結合CPLD/FPGA晶片設計、多媒體影音技術、影像處理及控制理論,以嵌入式系統為應用平台開發應用於智慧運輸系統(Intelligent Transportation System, ITS)及智慧型機器人(Intelligent Robots)。例如開發駕駛輔助系統(Driving Assistance System)提升車輛行駛安全;整合多媒體影音娛樂技術及全球定位系統(Global Position System, GPS)作為車載視聽娛樂系統及行車輔助系統;經由人臉表情辨識(Emotional Face Recognition)應用於寵物機器人之互動感知。



(2)多媒體及網路通訊:整合通訊領域及資訊領域,發展多媒體網路通訊平台。內容涵蓋:開發語音/影像數位化製作及壓縮演算法研究、SIP通訊協定製作,應用於數位學習、數位出版與典藏、VoIP、Video-Phone。而所建置之網路通訊技術,並可支援本學程相關遠端資料傳輸之所需。



(3)數位信號處理應用系統之開發:整合數位信號處理技術,包含數位濾波、信號模型化、頻譜分析、隨機信號處理、適應性信號處理、類神經網路、小波網路等,並開發影像、聲音及生醫數位信號處理應用系統,例如影像文字識別系統、影像瑕疵檢測系統、具主動式噪音控制之雙向音頻通訊系統、高解析度心電圖診斷系統等,以培育學生具有數位信號處理技術應用與系統設計之實務能力。



(4)積體電路之電腦輔助設計:應用電腦輔助軟體設計積體電路元件,以設計新元件或改進既有元件之電性特性,設計完成後送國家奈米元件實驗室(NDL)製造實體元件;應用電腦輔助軟體設計超大型積體電路(VLSI),設計完成後送國家晶片系統設計中心(CIC)製造實體電路。